48.6%

19 Nov

That was the graduation rate for Indianapolis Public Schools during the 2008-09 school year. 

Indianapolis Public Schools Graduation Rate

2008-2009 IPS Graduation Rates

I’ve been searching for the newest numbers but I haven’t heard they were any better.  I read a study a year ago that showed the top 50 highest populated cities’ graduation rates and Indianapolis, Cleveland, and Detroit brought up the 48, 49, and 50 spots. 

I’ve been developing what the criteria will be for student-athletes receiving donations.  I believe its going to be that the student-athlete is in 8th-12th grade, holds an overall 2.75 GPA, and qualifies for a free/reduced lunch (over 80% of the students do).

I would like to think this organization can motivate young student-athletes to get their grades up, as well as keep participating in their respective sports.  The benefit from participating in high school athletics is great, but even greater is what doors may open up if these kids stay in school and can graduate on schedule.  I know it sounds cliche but if we can help change even one athlete’s life, then I will feel that we have been a successful organization.

One Response to “48.6%”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 48.6% (via The Shoe Game) « Elliot Hood - November 19, 2010

    […] 48.6% (via The Shoe Game) 19 11 2010 That was the graduation rate for Indianapolis Public Schools during the 2008-09 school year.  I've been searching for the newest numbers but I haven't heard they were any better.  I read a study a year ago that showed the top 50 highest populated cities' graduation rates and Indianapolis, Cleveland, and Detroit brought up the 48, 49, an … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

